MEETING WITH GERMAIN CHAUVEAU, ARTISTIC DIRECTOR AND FOUNDER OF BOLD AND TALL

DIVIE met Germain CHAUVEAU, artistic director and founder of Bold and Tall. He agreed to answer our questions.

You are the artistic director of DIVIE. Can you tell us about the genesis of the project?

Alexandre contacted me during the first confinement to tell me about his project. He explained me the genesis and I was pleasantly surprised by his approach which broke the clichés that I could have of CBD. Moreover everything was to be created: the logo, the visual identity, the packaging, the image of the brand. I accepted because the idea was to take the opposite of what could be done, and to make a real product as beautiful as good and to be part of a more upscale approach. We agreed immediately on the desire to get away as much as possible from the “easy” imagery of this product: cannabis leaf and others and to slightly feminize the CBD.

How did you work?
I come from the press, I spent seven years as art director of Vogue and two years at ELLE magazine, and the goal was to have the same high standards for the image as for the quality of the product so that people would have the same pleasure when they discovered the box as when they opened their favorite perfume. The packaging plays both on the very natural side: the exterior is clear, sober and raw; and to surprise by slipping the sleeve on a frank red almost like a lipstick. We wanted to be able to put DIVIE in our bag without hiding from it.

It’s rather far from your previous experiences. Why did you accept?
First, because Alexandre knows how to be very convincing! And then the fact of being involved from the very first days of the brand, of being able to create “from scratch” was an exciting challenge.

Did you know about CannaBiDiol before Alexandre contacted you?
To be honest, not really and I had a rather not very positive image of it and very far from my way of life: I am vegetarian, I eat organic and I have never been attracted by artificial paradises… Alexandre explained me well the difference between THC and CBD. I also talked to my ethiopathe who explained me the benefits of CBD and I tried it, but I was not very convinced. I must admit that I was wrong: I felt a certain appeasement and a real muscular relaxation (from the trapezius to the toes passing by the belly.) and also a greater serenity before a speech in public.

Thank you Germain.

Rencontre avec Germain Chauveau, directeur artistique, fondateur de Bold and Tall

DIVIE a rencontré Germain CHAUVEAU, directeur artistique, fondteur de Bold and Tall. Il a accepté de répondre à nos questions.

 

Vous signez la direction artistique de DIVIE. Racontez-nous la genèse du projet?

Alexandre m’a contacté pendant le premier confinement pour me parler de son projet. Il m’a expliqué la genèse et j’ai été agréablement surpris par sa démarche qui cassait les clichés que je pouvais avoir du CBD. De plus tout était à créer : le logo, l’identité visuelle, le packaging, l’image de la marque. J’ai accepté car l’idée était de prendre le contre-pied de ce qu’il pouvait se faire, d’en faire un vrai produit aussi beau que bon et de s’inscrire dans une démarche plus haut de gamme. On s’est entendu tout de suite sur l’envie de s’éloigner au maximum de l’imagerie « facile » de ce produit : feuille de cannabis et autres et de féminiser légèrement le CBD.

Comment avez-vous travaillé ?

Je viens de la presse, j’ai passé sept ans à la direction artistique du Vogue et deux au magazine ELLE et le but était d’avoir la même exigence sur l’image que sur la qualité du produit pour que l’on ait le même plaisir en découvrant la boîte que lorsqu’on ouvre son parfum préféré. Le packaging joue à la fois sur le côté très naturel : l’extérieur est clair, sobre et brut ; et de surprendre en glissant le fourreau sur un rouge franc presque comme un rouge à lèvre. On souhaitait pouvoir mettre DIVIE dans son sac sans qu’on puisse s’en cacher.

C’est assez loin de vos précédents projets, pourquoi avoir accepté ?

D’abord parce qu’Alexandre sait être très convaincant ! Et puis le fait d’être impliqué dès les premiers jours de la marque, de pouvoir créer « from scratch » était un défi excitant.

Connaissiez-vous le CannaBiDiol avant que Alexandre vous contacte ?

Très honnêtement pas vraiment et j’en avais une image plutôt pas très positive et très éloignée de mon mode de vie : je suis végétarien, mange bio et je n’ai jamais été attiré par les paradis artificiels… Alexandre m’a bien expliqué la différence entre THC et CBD. J’en ai parlé aussi à mon éthiopathe qui m’a expliqué les bienfaits du CBD et j’ai donc essayé, mais en étant pas très convaincu. Je dois avouer que je m’étais trompé : j’ai ressenti un certain apaisement et une réelle détente musculaire (des trapèzes aux orteils en passant par le ventre.) et aussi une plus grande sérénité avant une prise de parole en public.

Merci Germain.